collector's item

XXII
Where he used to receive a wide variety of visitors. Including, Ramona Mercadera, third — and coped with the task — Trotsky's assassin. Who was simply Orlov's subordinate, as well as Fischerabel, and worked in the same office. So if Orlov really wanted to warn Trotsky, he could have told him much more about Ramon Mercader, not just that one — young, tall, handsome and speaks excellent spanish. However, Trotsky was not the reason for the second letter.: the reason for the second letter was the first letter, addressed to Stalin. For the sake of precision, so to speak: letter to Stalin, printed in the newspaper “Le Monde”, was turned to the West, whereas the letter to Trotsky, although it was sent to the West — to the western hemisphere, — was facing the East. The purpose of the first one was, to provide Orlov with a decent reputation abroad, preferably in circles, intelligence-related. The second was intended for their own, to show the guys at the Moscow headquarters, that he doesn't talk too much, although I could — eg, about Mercader. So they are guys — can finish the deal with Trotsky, if they want to. (They wanted, but we will not shed tears in connection with this, since Trotsky, drowned in blood Kronstadt uprising — the only genuine Russian revolution, which ever took place, — was no better, than the fiend of hell, who gave the order to finish him off. Finally, Stalin was an opportunist. Trotsky was an ideologist. From one thought, that they could swap places, throws in a sweat.) Moreover, if it came up, that he was the author of the second letter (as surfaced during Don Levin's research), this would only strengthen Orlov's reputation as a true anti-Stalinist. What he was not at all. He had no ideological, nor any other disagreements with Stalin. He just ran, saving his precious skin for him, and on the go threw a bone to the dogs, so that there is something to gnaw. And for a couple of decades they gnawed at her.
XXIII
Blackout. The credits will go now. Ten years ago, a Russian émigré publishing house in France published a book called “Hunter upside down”. The name conjures up “mysterious picture”, in which you need to find hidden figures — hunter, hares, peasants, birds, etc.. d. book author — Victor Khenkin. He was Willie Fischer's henchman in the good old Spanish days., and his book is mainly dedicated to Fisherabel, although in essence it is — autobiography. Some details about Orlov are also borrowed from there.. The book should have become a bestseller if only because, that those in the know on the longer of the two shores of the Atlantic still believed, that they took Rudolph Abel. The same way, how did they still believe, that Orlov, at one time passed to them, really worked this side of the Atlantic, whose awards proudly flaunt on his chest in one of Orlov's rare pictures in the book, with fanfare published in the States many years after his death (he died in 1972 year). There was no fanfare with Henkin's book. When an American publisher tried to contract her, he hit the wall of copyright. There was also some quiet scandal, accusations of plagiarism in connection with the French and German editions, the case went to court and, as far as I know, Henkin lost. Now he works for the Munich radio station, which broadcasts to Russia - almost a mirror image of that, what he has been doing for many years on the Moscow radio, prophetic in french. Maybe, he is already retired. Russian emigrant with too motley biography… Unreliable person, apparently — paranoid… Lives in the past, bad character… At least, now he is free, now he has normal documents. He can go to Gare de Lyon, take the train and, like fifty years ago, after spending the night in the carriage, arrive in Madrid in the morning, the city of his youth and adventures. One has only to cross the wide station square, and he will be in front of the entrance to “Nacional” — he can find him with his eyes closed. Same, eyes closed, he can enter the hotel lobby, where the Orlovs swarmed fifty years ago, Phishers, Abel. Hemingway, Philby, Orwells, Mercader, Malraux, Negrins, Ehrenburgs and smaller luminaries, like himself, — all those characters, who at the moment have already taken part in our story or to whom we owe our information. However, open your eyes, he would find, what “Nacional” closed. It is closed, according to one — youth especially — for ten years now; according to others — soon fifty. Looking at all, nor youth, neither old people know, who pays real estate tax for it; but maybe, in Spain everything is generally done differently.
XXIV
And so that you, dear reader, didn't think, that we forgot about Kim Philby, let's get him out of this lobby crowd “Nacional” and ask him, what is he doing here. “Press, do you know, — we will hear back. — Report from the battlefield”. Let's try to find out, Whose side is he on, and imagine for a minute, what will he answer honestly. “I'm changing sides at the moment. Instructions”. AND, perhaps, with a slight movement of the chin will point to the sixth floor “Nacional”. For I am one hundred percent convinced, what exactly Orlov in 1937 a year or so in Madrid told him to change his song in “Time” from republican to francoist, for strong camouflage. If a, as is commonly believed, the idea was, to turn Philby into a time bomb in the British intelligence sancta sanctorum, its coloring was supposed to be pro-fascist. Not that Orlov foresaw, how will the Spanish show end (although he might have some premonitions), — he just assumed or even knew, what Philby needs to be saved for the future. Orlov could believe or know this only on condition, that he had access to Philby's dossier, which by this time the Russians had accumulated (he was recruited into 1933 year), or was involved in his recruitment itself. The first is undoubtedly, second — perhaps. Anyway, Orlov knew Philby personally, which he tried to bring to the consciousness of the hapless FBI officer, who spoke to him in 1944 year, to my mind, in Iowa, where Orlov found himself after immigrating to the United States from Canada. In this moment, looking at all, Orlov was ready to split, but the FBI guy ignored the mention of some English stutterer, who worked for the Soviet Union, which, to all other, was then an American ally. Orlov did not particularly insist, and Kim Philby rose to the postage stamp.
XXV
With all this data fully intact in the hipothalamus that has not yet split, one side, and with a couple of printed novels, stuffed with faceless detective gum, truth, Russian sample, with another, Orlov, undoubtedly, was of some interest to the newly formed in the late 40s. CRU. I have no idea, dear reader, who took the first step: I have not studied any biography of Orlov, no printed materials about him. This is not my business. I'm not even an amateur detective — I just collect all these scraps at my leisure into something single, and not even out of curiosity, and to drown out the attack of strong disgust, caused by the sight of the title page of the aforementioned literary newspaper. That is — autotherapy, and what's the difference, what are the sources, if only it works. Whatever it was, whoever took the first step, Orlov, looking at all, since the early 1950s. collaborated with the CIA. In-house or freelance — Hard to say, but, judging by the awards and circumstantial evidence in his subsequent thin. works, this assumption is justified. Likely, the agency kept him in the role of an advisor; these days such an employee is called a consultant. Interesting, of course, did the Moscow colleagues know about his new job. Assuming — for the treasures of the Eagles, — that he himself did not notify them about it, for that would be suicide, and what to enter the newborn institution — at least by definition — they failed, Muscovites remained in the dark. However, reason to believe, that Orlov is alive and well, they had — at least as an aspiring author. Since there has been no news about him for twenty years, they could have doubted. And when in doubt, imagination paints the darkest pictures. With a certain occupation, this is only natural.. Quite possible, that they wanted to check their fears.
XXVI
And for this they had the right tool. So they removed it from the naphthalene and delivered it to the desired point.. However, they were in no hurry. That is, they were in no hurry, until one thousand nine hundred and fifty wrinkled. And then they suddenly hurried. And the eleventh March, in Brooklyn, Willie Fischer lets these FBI guys arrest him and says urbi et orbi: “I — Rudolf Abel”. And the press in the States and in all other places it just goes. And Orlov is silent, like a fish. It is seen, he is reluctant to meet an old friend.
XXVII
What so unusual happened in nineteen hundred and fifty mint, you ask, and why suddenly it was urgently necessary to check the content of the Orlov hippothalamus? Even if it hasn't split yet, is it not out of date and has not lost any value? And who said, that you definitely need to meet old friends? And now, dear reader, get ready to listen to delusional considerations. Now we will really prove to you, that you have not forgotten your plot. Now it will boil in the boiler: we drown with clean oil.
XXVIII
Contrary to popular demonology, the foreign policy of the Soviet Union since its inception has always been opportunistic. I use this word literally, and not in a derogatory sense. Opportunism — this is the essence of any foreign policy, regardless of the degree of self-confidence of a given state. It means the use of opportunities - objectively present, imaginary or created. Throughout much of its deplorable history, the Soviet Union remained a highly insecure entity., traumatized by the circumstances of their own birth, and his behavior in relation to the world around him fluctuated between wariness and hostility. (Molotov felt the best in these parameters., stalinist foreign minister). As a result, the Soviet Union allowed itself to use only objectively existing opportunities.. Which he most explicitly used in 1939 year, capturing the Baltic states and half of Poland, proposed to Stalin by Hitler, as well as in the final period of World War II, when he took over Eastern Europe. As for the possibilities of imaginary (hike to Warsaw in 1928 year, Spanish adventure 1936–39 yy. and the Finnish campaign 1940 of the year), then the Soviet Union paid dearly for these flights of fantasy (although in the case of Spain and received a refund in the form of the Spanish national gold reserve). The General Staff was the first to pay for this, almost entirely decapitated by 1941 year. But still, as I suspect, the hardest consequence of these fantasies was, that the helplessness of the Red Army, manifested in the fight against a handful of Finnish connections, made Hitler's overwhelming temptation to attack Russia irresistible. Real payback for pleasure, imaginary opportunities, it turned out the number of divisions, involved in the operation “Barbarossa”.
XXIX
The victory did not cause noticeable changes in Soviet foreign policy, because the spoils of war were not able to cover the gigantic human and industrial losses, incurred during the war. The scale of the destruction was unprecedented; the main slogan after the war was the restoration of the country. It was carried out, basically, due to technology, exported from the conquered territories and installed in the USSR. This policy brought moral satisfaction, but did not contribute to industrial progress. The country remained secondary, if not a tertiary power; only, what justified her claim to greatness was her physical size and the size of the war machine. With all the impressiveness and equipment of this machine according to the latest (or the penultimate) word of technology, comfort, which the country could learn from it, was essentially a variant of narcissism, considering the total power of its supposed adversaries and the emergence of nuclear weapons. If anything was defeated in a fight with this machine, so this is the foreign policy of the Soviet Union: in fact, its principles were dictated by his legions. To this Clausewitz must be added inside out the growing inertia of the state apparatus, frozen in horror at the thought of personal responsibility and imbued with conviction, that the first and last word in all matters and, Firstly, in foreign policy, belongs to Stalin. In this atmosphere, diplomatic initiatives were unthinkable., not to mention trying to create new opportunities. Besides, the difference between created and imagined possibilities is sometimes not quite obvious. To distinguish one from the other, need an analyst, familiar with the dynamics of a well-developed economy (accumulation of resources, overproduction, etc.. NS.). If you don't have such experience, one of them is easy to mistake for another. And it was just in the mid-1950s that the Soviet Union lacked. Today too.

Rate:
( 14 assessment, average 2.79 from 5 )
Share with your friends:
Joseph Brodsky
Add a comment

Коллекционный экземпляр

XXII
Где он обычно принимал самых разных посетителей. В том числе, Рамона Меркадера, третьего — и справившегося с задачей — убийцу Троцкого. Который был попросту подчиненным Орлова, так же как и Фишерабель, и работал в той же самой конторе. Так что если бы Орлов действительно хотел предупредить Троцкого, он мог бы рассказать ему про Рамона Меркадера намного больше, а не только что тот — молодой, высокий, красивый и прекрасно говорит по-испански. Однако не Троцкий был поводом для второго письма: поводом для второго письма было первое письмо, адресованное Сталину. Точности ради, скажем так: письмо Сталину, напечатанное в газете «Ле Монд», было обращено к Западу, тогда как письмо Троцкому, хотя отправлено оно было именно на Запад — в западное полушарие, — было обращено к Востоку. Цель первого из них заключалась в том, чтобы обеспечить Орлову приличную репутацию за границей, предпочтительно в кругах, связанных с разведкой. Второе было предназначено для своих, чтобы показать ребятам в московской штаб-квартире, что он не болтает лишнего, хотя и мог бы — например, про Меркадера. Так что они -ребята — могут доделать дело с Троцким, если им так хочется. (Им захотелось, но слез в связи с этим мы лить не станем, поскольку Троцкий, утопивший в крови Кронштадтское восстание — единственную подлинную русскую революцию, которая когда-либо имела место, — был ничуть не лучше, чем то исчадье ада, которое отдало приказ его прикончить. В конце концов, Сталин был оппортунист. Троцкий был идеолог. От одной мысли, что они могли бы поменяться местами, кидает в пот.) Более того, если бы всплыло, что он был автором второго письма (как и всплыло в ходе исследований Дона Левина), это только укрепило бы репутацию Орлова как истинного антисталиниста. Каковым он вовсе не был. У него не было ни идеологических, ни каких-либо иных расхождений со Сталиным. Он просто бежал, спасая свою драгоценную для него шкуру, и на ходу кинул псам кость, чтоб было что грызть. И пару десятилетий они ее грызли.
XXIII
Затемнение. Сейчас пойдут титры. Десять лет назад русское эмигрантское издательство во Франции выпустило книгу под названием «Охотник вверх ногами». Название это вызывает в воображении «загадочную картинку», в которой нужно отыскать скрытые фигуры — охотника, зайцев, крестьян, птиц и т. д. Автор книги — Виктор Хенкин. Он был тем самым подручным Вилли Фишера в старые добрые испанские времена, и книга его посвящена главным образом Фишерабелю, хотя по существу это — автобиография. Некоторые детали про Орлова тоже заимствованы оттуда. Книга должна была бы стать бестселлером уже хотя бы потому, что осведомленные лица на более длинном из двух берегов Атлантики по-прежнему считали, что взяли Рудольфа Абеля. Так же точно, как они все еще верили, что Орлов, в свое время к ним перешедший, действительно работал на эту сторону Атлантики, награды которой горделиво красуются у него на груди на одном из редких снимков Орлова в книге, с помпой изданной в Штатах через много лет после его смерти (умер он в 1972 году). С книгой Хенкина никакой помпы не было. Когда американский издатель попытался заключить на нее контракт, он уперся в стенку авторского права. Еще был какой-то негромкий скандал, обвинения в плагиате в связи с французским и немецким изданиями, дело дошло до суда и, насколько я знаю, Хенкин проиграл. Теперь он работает на мюнхенской радиостанции, которая вещает на Россию -почти что зеркальное отражение того, чем он занимаются долгие годы на московском радио, вещая по-французски. А может быть, он уже на пенсии. Российский эмигрант со слишком пестрой биографией… Ненадежный человек, видимо — параноик… Живет прошлым, скверный характер… По крайней мере, теперь он свободен, теперь у него нормальные документы. Он может отправиться на Лионский вокзал, сесть на поезд и, как пятьдесят лет назад, проведя ночь в вагоне, прибыть наутро в Мадрид, город его юности и приключений. Стоит лишь пересечь широкую привокзальную площадь, и он окажется перед входом в «Насьональ» — он может его найти с закрытыми глазами. Так же, с закрытыми глазами, он может войти в вестибюль отеля, где пятьдесят лет назад кишели Орловы, Фишеры, Абели. Хемингуэи, Филби, Орвеллы, Меркадеры, Мальро, Негрины, Эренбурги и светила поменьше, вроде него самого, — все те персонажи, которые на данный момент уже приняли участие в нашем повествовании или которым мы обязаны своими сведениями. Однако раскрой он глаза, он обнаружил бы, что «Насьональ» закрыт. Закрыт он, если верить одним — молодежи в особенности — вот уже десять лет; если верить другим — уже скоро пятьдесят. Судя по всему, ни молодежь, ни старики не знают, кто платит за него налог на недвижимость; но может, в Испании все вообще делается по-другому.
XXIV
А чтобы ты, дорогой читатель, не подумал, что мы забыли про Кима Филби, давай извлечем его из этой толпы в вестибюле «Насьоналя» и спросим его, что он тут поделывает. «Пресса, знаете ли, — услышим мы в ответ. — Репортаж с поля боя». Попробуем выяснить, на чьей он стороне, и представим на минутку, что он ответит честно. «В данный момент меняю стороны. Инструкции». И, возможно, легким движением подбородка укажет на шестой этаж «Насьоналя». Ибо я на сто процентов убежден, что именно Орлов в 1937 году или около того в Мадриде велел ему сменить свою песню в «Тайме» с республиканской на франкистскую, для вящего камуфляжа. Если, как принято считать, идея была в том, чтобы превратить Филби в мину замедленного действия в sancta sanctorum британской разведки, окраска его должна была стать профашистской. Не то чтобы Орлов предвидел, чем кончится испанский спектакль (хотя какие-то предчувствия у него могли быть), — просто он предполагал или даже знал, что Филби нужно приберечь на будущее. А полагать или знать это Орлов мог только при условии, что он имел доступ к досье Филби, которое к этому времени накопилось у русских (завербован он был в 1933 году), или же был причастен к самой его вербовке. Первое несомненно, второе — возможно. Так или иначе, Орлов знал Филби лично, что он и пытался довести до сознания незадачливого сотрудника ФБР, который с ним беседовал в 1944 году, по-моему, в Айове, где Орлов обретался после того как иммигрировал в Соединенные Штаты из Канады. В этот момент, судя по всему, Орлов был готов расколоться, но малый из ФБР не обратил внимания на упоминание о каком-то заике-англичанине, работавшем на Советский Союз, каковой, ко всему прочему, был тогда американским союзником. Орлов не стал особенно настаивать, и Ким Филби дослужился до почтовой марки.
XXV
Со всеми этими данными в полной сохранности в так и не расколовшемся гиппоталамусе, с одной стороны, и с парой напечатанных романов, напичканных безликой детективной жвачкой, правда, русского образца, с другой, Орлов, несомненно, представлял некоторый интерес для только что образованного в конце 40-х гг. ЦРУ. Понятия не имею, милый читатель, кто сделал первый шаг: я не занимался изучением ни биографии Орлова, ни печатных о нем материалов. Не мое это дело. Я даже не детектив-любитель — просто собираю на досуге все эти обрывки в нечто единое, и не из любопытства даже, а чтобы заглушить приступ сильного отвращения, вызванного видом заглавной страницы вышеупомянутой литературной газеты. Стало быть — автотерапия, и какая разница, каковы источники, лишь бы действовало. Как бы там ни было, кто бы ни сделал первый шаг, Орлов, судя по всему, с начала 1950-х гг. сотрудничал с ЦРУ. Штатно или внештатно — трудно сказать, но, судя по наградам и косвенным свидетельствам в его последующих худ. произведениях, предположение это имеет основания. Скорее всего, агентство это держало его в роли советника; в наши дни такой сотрудник называется консультантом. Интересно, конечно, знали ли московские коллеги о его новой работе. Полагая — ради блага Орлова, — что сам он их об этом не уведомил, ибо это было бы самоубийством, и что проникнуть в новорожденное учреждение — хотя бы по определению — им не удалось, москвичи оставались в неведении. Тем не менее, основания считать, что Орлов жив и здоров, у них были — хотя бы как честолюбивый автор. Поскольку в течение двадцати лет про него не было никаких новостей, они могли сомневаться. А когда сомневаешься, воображение рисует самые мрачные картины. При определенном роде занятий это только естественно. Вполне возможно, что им захотелось проверить свои опасения.
XXVI
И для этого у них был подходящий инструмент. Вот они и извлекли его из нафталина и доставили в нужную точку. Тем не менее, они не торопились. То есть не торопились, пока не наступил тысяча девятьсот вездесят мятый. И тут они вдруг заспешили. И надцатого мартобря, в Бруклине, Вилли Фишер дает этим самым малым из ФБР себя арестовать и заявляет urbi et orbi: «Я — Рудольф Абель». И пресса в Штатах и во всех других местах от этого просто заходится. И Орлов молчит, как рыба. Видно, ему неохота встречаться со старым приятелем.
XXVII
Что же такого необычного случилось в тысяча девятьсот вездесят мятом, спросите вы, и почему вдруг срочно понадобилось проверять содержание орловского гиппоталамуса? Даже если он еще не раскололся, разве оно не устарело и не утратило какую бы то ни было ценность? И кто сказал, что обязательно нужно встречаться со старыми приятелями? А теперь, дорогой читатель, приготовься выслушать бредовые соображения. Теперь-то мы тебе докажем по-настоящему, что не забыли свой сюжет. Сейчас в котле закипит: мы топим чистой нефтью.
XXVIII
Вопреки популярной демонологии, внешняя политика Советского Союза с самого его возникновения всегда была оппортунистической. Это слово я употребляю в буквальном, а не в уничижительном значении. Оппортунизм — это суть любой иностранной политики, вне зависимости от степени уверенности в себе данного государства. Означает он использование возможностей -объективно присутствующих, мнимых или созданных. На протяжении большей части прискорбной своей истории Советский Союз оставался весьма неуверенным в себе субъектом, травмированным обстоятельствами собственного рождения, и поведение его по отношению к окружающему миру колебалось между настороженностью и враждебностью. (Лучше всех в этих параметрах чувствовал себя Молотов, сталинский министр иностранных дел). В результате Советский Союз позволял себе пользоваться лишь объективно существующими возможностями. Которыми он наиболее явно и воспользовался в 1939 году, захватив балтийские государства и пол-Польши, предложенные Сталину Гитлером, а также в заключительный период второй мировой войны, когда он завладел Восточной Европой. Что касается возможностей мнимых (поход на Варшаву в 1928 году, испанская авантюра 1936—39 гг. и финская кампания 1940 года), то Советский Союз дорого заплатил за эти полеты фантазии (хотя в случае с Испанией и получил возмещение в форме испанского национального золотого запаса). Первым за это поплатился Генеральный штаб, почти целиком обезглавленный к 1941 году. И все же, как я подозреваю, самое тяжелое последствие этих фантазий заключалось в том, что беспомощность Красной Армии, проявленная в борьбе с горсткой финских соединений, сделала одолевавшее Гитлера искушение напасть на Россию непреодолимым. Реальной расплатой за удовольствия, связанные с мнимыми возможностями, оказалось число дивизий, вовлеченных в операцию «Барбаросса».
XXIX
Победа не вызвала заметных изменений в советской внешней политике, поскольку военные трофеи не в состоянии были покрыть гигантских человеческих и промышленных потерь, понесенных в ходе войны. Масштабы разрушений были беспрецедентными; основным лозунгом после войны стало восстановление страны. Осуществлялось оно, в основном, за счет техники, вывозимой с покоренных территорий и устанавливаемой в СССР. Политика эта приносила моральное удовлетворение, но промышленному прогрессу не способствовала. Страна оставалась второстепенной, если не третьестепенной державой; единственным, что оправдывало ее претензии на величие была ее физическая величина и размер военной машины. При всей внушительности и оснащенности этой машины по последнему (или предпоследнему) слову техники, утешение, которое страна могла в ней почерпнуть, было по существу вариантом нарциссизма, учитывая суммарную мощь ее предполагамых противников и появление ядерного оружия. Если что и потерпело поражение в схватке с этой машиной, так это внешняя политика Советского Союза: по сути, ее принципы диктовались его легионами. К этому Клаузевицу наизнанку нужно добавить нараставшую косность государственного аппарата, замиравшему от ужаса при мысли о личной ответственности и проникнутому убеждением, что первое и последнее слово во всех вопросах и, в первую очередь, в вопросах внешней политики, принадлежит Сталину. В этой атмосфере дипломатические инициативы были немыслимы, не говоря уже о попытках создания новых возможностей. Кроме того, различие между созданной и мнимой возможностями порою не вполне очевидно. Чтобы отличить одну от другой, нужен аналитик, знакомый с динамикой хорошо развитой экономики (накоплением ресурсов, избыточным производством и т. п.). Если такого опыта у вас нет, одну из них легко принять за другую. А его как раз в середине 1950-х годов Советскому Союзу недоставало. Сегодня тоже.

Оцените:
( 11 оценок, среднее 2.82 из 5 )
Поделитесь с друзьями:
Иосиф Бродский
Добавить комментарий